Skip to content

ARMM Elections 2008

August 6, 2008

The scheduled election in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao or ARMM will push through on Monday, August 11, 2008.

The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (abbreviated ARMM) is the region of the Philippines that is composed of all the Philippines’ predominantly Muslim provinces, namely: Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Shariff Kabunsuan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi, and the Philippines’ only predominantly Muslim city, the Islamic City of Marawi. It is the only region that has its own government. The regional capital is at Cotabato City, although this city is outside of its jurisdiction.  Source

The ARMM realm is due to expand after the approval and signing of the “Peace agreement” between the government and Moro Islamic Liberation Front which will be tackled on a different post.

This elections, if it will push through, will be a historic one. It will be the first time the country will have an automated election. This is now a big issue aside from the expansion of the ARMM.

However, the COMELEC said they will be pushing through with the Automated election. Will discuss this on my Halalan Blog.

COMELEC will be using two types of automation: Direct Recording Electronic and Optical Mark Reader.

To have a better picture of these two system, watch the info-video below.

Direct Recording Electronic

Optical Mark Reader

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: