Skip to content

Rice fields turns into Banana Plantations

June 9, 2008

I saw this headline from PDI last June 2. And it says in the article that Mindanao is the Country’s food basket but is also gripped with high prices of commodities specifically rice.

06022008661 (Small)

We’ve been plagued with the high price of rice for several months now and we’ve blamed a lot of factors for this.

I go for the theory (or is it a fact already?) that high rice prices are brought about by “rice hoarders”. Coupled wit agricultural lands being converted into industrial zones or housing projects.

But what I have observed and based from conversations with long time settlers here in the Davao Region, several rice fields have been transformed into banana plantations.

Why?

Well, return of investment is quicker with a bigger profit. unlike with rice where you’d have to wait for months (3-4 months?) to rip the fruits of your hard labor.

Banana trees are easier to manage and cheaper. You need not buy the next “seeds” ( i don’t know what you call them). New ones just sprout beside the old one.

Aside from Banana, you have pineapple, Buko, pomelo… other fruits which are easier to manage, sell, and get profit from.

Going back to Bananas, here are some articles to support my observations:

You could also check out these statistics from the Mindanao Development Council though the data was from several years ago.. you could imagine what the figures are today. Like this report.

My officemate told me about this news that Middle east countries have tapped Mindanao for banana exports… Billions and Billion of bananas will b exported there.

Less rice.. more bananas. =p

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    September 18, 2008 10:01 pm

    I just have a strange question and I couldn’t email you personally about this because I couldn’t find a contact address, but can you let me know where you got this awesome peeled banana image? I am interested in using it so and am wondering if its from a stock photography site, etc. Thanks!

  2. migs permalink*
    September 19, 2008 7:12 am

    I Just googled it.

    =p

  3. September 28, 2008 11:19 pm

    nina omba mnifu nyasha sayansi, mimi riziki wa mkombozi ya banana ina kukua je pa ka ina kua, imeiva, nina omba uniru dishie majubu, mimi riziki, mkombozi moshi.

  4. vin permalink
    October 2, 2008 7:07 pm

    Dear sir or madam

    I am writing to ask for permission to use a picture from your website, I have got a picture of a banana from your site and just wanted to know if it was okay to use your picture for my GCSE I.C.T course work.

    Thank you Vinni Denardis.

  5. migs permalink*
    October 2, 2008 10:10 pm

    I think you can use the banana.. just make it clear that you downloaded it from the internet but you can’t find the rightful owner…

  6. Mikey permalink
    October 8, 2008 9:23 pm

    Dear sir or madam,
    i am writing to you to ask if i could use the image of the peeled banana for my ict GCSE course, it would be for educational purposes only and i would state clearly that i found it on the internet and could not find the rightful owner. can you please email me on my email adress given thank you.

  7. Mikey permalink
    October 8, 2008 9:30 pm

    sorry, could you NOT email me on the address given, my emails playing up, not working properly. can you please contact me through here instead please. #

    thanks.
    Mikey

    :/

  8. Ryan-Adam permalink
    October 14, 2008 3:10 am

    Dear Sir/Madaam

    Could i please have your permission to use the picture of the peeled bannana on your website for an ICT course for my GCSE’s. I would be really greatuful if you could reply in the near future.

    Ryan-Adam

  9. migs permalink*
    October 14, 2008 7:40 am

    As i’ve said before.. i just searched for it using google images.

    I’m not the owner of that image.

    Here is the link to make it easy for you to see it:
    http://images.google.com/images?rlz=1C1GGLS_enPH291&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=banana&um=1&sa=N&tab=wi

Leave a Reply

