Skip to content

Bwisit na Taxi drivers dito sa Manila

April 28, 2008

Day 3 of my Manila vacation and taxi drivers are pissing me off!

I think I’ve gotten used to the nice and honest Davao City taxi drivers. As i’ve mentioned in one of my previous blog posts, in Davao, Taxi drivers give you the exact change. And sometimes if lets say your fare was 47.50, and the cab driver doesn’t have 2.50, the cab driver will give you either 3.00 or 5.00 as your change.

But here in Manila.. its waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay different.

First scenario:

UP to Cubao. Fare was P85.00. I gave the cab driver P100. The cab driver was waiting for me to go alight from the cab while was waiting for him to give my change! He assumed that I’ll give him the P15 as tip. When he noticed that i was waiting for my change, he took a P5.00 coin and gave it to me.

Second one which happened just last night:

Ortigas to home. fare was 127.50. I gave P150.00. I told the driver to get P130.00. But he looked at me and said “Sir, pang gas ko na lang. Kasi malayo naman..” I alighted from the cab while saying “Hay Naku”.

Sa Davao, mahihiya kang hindi magbigay ng tip.. majority of the Drivers are kind and good. Here in Manila, magagalit ka kung sapilitan kang kukunan ng tip… kabaligtaran talaga.. Most of the drivers are barumbado and some are really bad!

Its like you have no choice of giving a tip or not.

Wala namang nagagawa ang Land Transportation Office (LTO) or ang LTFRB.

IBALIK NIYO NA AKO SA DAVAO!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. witness permalink
    April 29, 2008 5:14 pm

    ^^

    yeah, it’s more difficult when your a firl, especially when you look very young. if you have tips for me on this, id love to hear them. my manila commuting experience was frustrating, too.

  2. witness permalink
    April 29, 2008 5:15 pm

    ^^
    er.. i mean GIRL

Leave a Reply

