Skip to content

Me in Davao

November 6, 2007

I’ve been to other places here in the Philippines, but of all those places, I see Davao as likely to be my second home.

Well, that’s my plan.. to stay in Davao for good – that’s if i don’t get a “great” job somewhere else, especially if i get an offer outside of the country, but it should be an offer that “i can’t refuse”.

I’ve been here for more than 7 months now. But its not my first time here. My former employer would send me here as part of my job. But those were quick “tours”. Now its different. Although I’m assigned in Compostella Valley, I visit Davao City often. Its just a two hour ride from our head office up here in the mountains.

I can’t speak “bisaya” – not yet, but i understand the language – the basic ones or as they say, “gamay lang”. This is because my mom came from Butuan, and she was also able to spend some years  here in Davao. I also have bisaya relatives. And when they visit us or we visit them, they’d talk bisaya. Plus the fact that I’ve read  some “how to speak.. ” over the internet – yah know, I came in prepared.

The succeeding posts that you’ll be reading in this blog will contain my life in Davao.

I think those who would be interested in this blog are those who wants to know more about this place.

I’ll try to supply the answer for the basic questions of what, where, when, who, how, and why. Like where to go for…? How to go there? What to look out for? When is this event happening?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2007 3:19 pm

    hello migs! may i know what particular place in compostela valley were you assigned. ‘coz i live there but i’m working here in davao…:-)

  2. skylaar permalink
    January 2, 2008 12:58 am

    Hi, Migs! I lived in Davao from March-June 2007 and felt the same way-this is one place I can hang my hat for a long time if not for good. I had to go back to Manila to realize that…now, I (quietly) miss Davao. Musta na kaya sya…

  3. migs permalink*
    January 2, 2008 9:19 am

    Skylaar,

    I’m in Manila right now. I celebrated the new year with my Family. But going back sa Davao today. bringing all my stuff there! hehhehe

    Kelan ka balik?

  4. January 7, 2008 12:27 am

    All your stuff? That means you’ll be making Davao your home na! I guess your family’s bingi na with all your raves about the city ha. hehe. I hope to go back April the latest. I wasn’t able to explore much the last time ’cause I mostly worked.

Leave a Reply

